Caught by the River

The Bee Symphony (Chris Watson Watch)

Chris Watson | 4th December 2010

Celebrating the bee in science and art
Friday 17 December 2010 at 7.30pm, Rymer Auditorium, York University

The Bee Symphony featuring Chris Watson, Mike Harding, Marcus Davidson and singers from the University of York
My Queen and I – Irene Moon (USA)
The Value of Bees presented by Gay Marris & Selwyn Wilkins of the National Bee Unit

Press release:
The Bee Symphony, consisting of recordings of bees by Mike Harding (Touch) and Chris Watson (‘The Life of Birds’, ‘The Life of Mammals’, ‘Life in the Undergrowth’ and ‘Life in Cold Blood’) and a vocal score by Marcus Davidson (Spire) will be performed live by Chris Watson and five singers from the University of York, conducted by Marcus Davidson. The Symphony was originally commissioned as part of Pestival and performed in the Queen Elizabeth Hall, London.

“The theme of the evening is really for people to become immersed in the sounds and rhythms of the insects.” Chris Watson

In addition to The Bee Symphony the programme features Irene Moon’s audio-visual work My Queen and I and a presentation by the National Bee Unit. There will also be stalls selling beeswax candles and other bee products – perfect Christmas prezzies!

For information about The Bee Symphony, see

Tickets: £10 (concessions £8); students £3 on sale HERE.